The Racing Journal Logo

Fans again voting on Racing's "Moment of the Year"

December 20, 2006     E-mail this page to a friend!

NTRA, Dec. 15 - Voting is underway at the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) Web site,, for the eighth annual "NTRA Moment of the Year." Voters can choose from among 10 images, drawn from the year's racing. Those selecting the winning image automatically will be entered in a random drawing for a grand prize of $1,000. The winning moment will be announced at the Jan. 22, 2007, Eclipse Awards ceremony in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The moments were selected to illustrate a wide range of human emotions and achievements as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism. Listed chronologically, the images and events that fans can choose from are:
· Barbaro wins the Kentucky Derby by a whopping 6 ˝ lengths
· Barbaro is injured in the Preakness as Bernardini wins impressively
· The racing world keeps vigil as Barbaro fights for his life at the New Bolton Center
· Lava Man wins the Pacific Classic; becomes first to sweep Santa Anita Handicap, Hollywood Gold Cup and Pacific Classic in same year
· Trainer Todd Pletcher breaks Wayne Lukas's records for most stakes wins and graded stakes wins in one year
· Street Sense rolls to victory in the Bessemer Trust Breeders' Cup Juvenile by a stakes-record 10 lengths
· Ouija Board displays her dominance in capturing a second Emirates Airline Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf
· Invasor defeats Bernardini in a thrilling Breeders' Cup Classic – Powered by Dodge
· Discreet Cat equals Easy Goer's track record in taking the Hill ‘n' Dale Cigar Mile at Aqueduct
· Jockey Russell Baze breaks Laffit Pincay Jr.'s record for most career victories

The first-ever “NTRA Moment of the Year” was the touching scene involving Charismatic and jockey Chris Antley following the 1999 Belmont Stakes. The following year's winner was the stretch run of the 2000 Breeders' Cup Classic, which saw Tiznow hold on for a dramatic victory against Giant's Causeway. Tiznow won again the following year as fans selected his stirring repeat victory in the Classic over Sakhee. In 2002, fans cited the passing of the last living Triple Crown winner, Seattle Slew. In 2003, the popular Kentucky Derby win by Funny Cide was selected. Birdstone's upset win in the Belmont Stakes over Smarty Jones took down top honors for 2004. Last year, fans selected Afleet Alex's spectacular victory in the 2005 Preakness Stakes.

"The NTRA Moment of the Year gives fans a voice and sense of ownership at the Eclipse Awards," said Keith Chamblin, NTRA senior vice president of communications and industry relations. "It allows them to salute the people, horses and memories that make our sport so appealing. We look forward to seeing which Moment they select as this year's winner."

Fans 18 years and older can register to vote online at Entries must be received by 11:59 p.m. (ET) on Monday, January 15, 2007. Void where prohibited. All federal, state and local laws and regulations apply. A complete set of rules is available online or by contacting NTRA Communications.