The Racing Journal Logo

2005 Eclipse Award Winners

January 23, 2006     E-mail this page to a friend!

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) today released the names of the winners for the 2005 Eclipse Awards. The Eclipse Awards are voted on and presented by the NTRA, Daily Racing Form (DRF) and National Turf Writers Association (NTWA). The votes are tabulated and certified by Ernst & Young LLP.  Winners in all categories will be announced tonight at the 35th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held at the Regent Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, Calif. This information is embargoed until 12:10 a.m. Eastern on Tuesday, January 24.

Horse of the Year: Saint Liam

·         Two-Year-Old Male: Stevie Wonderboy

·         Two-Year-Old Female: Folklore

·         Three-Year-Old Male: Afleet Alex

·         Three-Year-Old Female:  Smuggler

·         Older Male:  Saint Liam

·         Older Female: Ashado

·         Sprinter:  Lost in the Fog

·         Male Turf Horse:  Leroidesanimaux (BRZ)

·         Female Turf Horse: Intercontinental (GB)

·         Steeplechase: McDynamo

·         Owner: Michael Gill

·         Breeder:  Adena Springs

·         Jockey: John Velazquez

·         Apprentice Jockey: Emma –Jayne Wilson

·         Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon the Thoroughbred horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective divisions. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Voting Overview
In voting that concluded Dec. 28, 2005, Eclipse Awards voters cast their ballots to rank the top three horses and individuals in each Championship division. This voting established the top three finalists in each division, the names of which were released on Jan. 5, 2006. Eclipse Award winners were determined by first-place votes only.

The tallies below represent only first-place votes from members of the consolidated voting entities, NTRA/Equibase, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers Association.

Two-Year-Old Male (Name, First-Place Votes)

Stevie Wonderboy, 230; First Samurai, 25; Bluegrass Cat, 1; Henny Hughes 1; Private Vow, 1; What a Song 1; Voter Abstentions, 3. 

Two-Year-Old Filly

Folklore, 257; Wild Fit, 2; French Park 1; Voter Abstentions, 2.

Three-Year-Old Male

Afleet Alex, 253; Flower Alley, 6; Voter Abstentions, 3.  

Three-Year-Old Female

Smuggler, 177; Indian Vale, 24; Summerly, 20; Round Pond, 16; In the Gold, 9; Sweet Catomine, 9; Cesario (JPN), 2; Leave Me Alone, 1; Splendid Blended, 1; Sweet Symphony 1; Voter Abstentions 2.

Older Male

Saint Liam, 250; Ghostzapper 5; Rock Hard Ten, 3; Roses in May, 1; Voter Abstentions, 3.

Older Female

Ashado, 203; Pleasant Home, 49; Intercontinental (GB), 2; Stellar Jayne, 2; Dream of Summer, 1; Pampered Princess, 1; Voter Abstentions, 3.


Lost in the Fog, 209; Silver Train, 30; Saratoga County, 11; Ghostzapper, 7; Purge, 1; Taste of Paradise 1; Voter Abstentions, 3.

Male Turf Horse

Leroidesanimaux (BRZ) 119; Artie Schiller, 116; Shirocco (GER), 17; Powerscourt (GB), 3;; Kitten’s Joy, 2; Relaxed Gesture, 2; Voter Abstentions, 3.

Female Turf Horse

Intercontinental (GB), 245; Cesario (JPN), 8; Megahertz (GB), 2; Gorella, 1; Ouija Board (GB), 1; Sweet Talker, 1; Voter Abstentions, 4.   

Steeplechase Horse

McDynamo, 226; Hirapour (IRE), 2; Preemptive Strike, 2; Sur La Tete, 2; Paradise’s Boss 1; Voter Abstentions, 29.

Horse of the Year

Saint Liam, 194; Afleet Alex, 56; Ghostzapper, 1; Lost in the Fog, 1; Rock Hard Ten, 1; Roses in May, 1. Voter Abstentions, 8.  

Outstanding Owner

Michael Gill, 75; Melnyk Racing Stables, Inc., 64; Live Oak Plantation, 42; Phipps Stable, 19; Cash is King LLC, 14; Robert Bone, 11;  Harry Aleo, 9; Mr. and Mrs. William K. Warren, Jr. 8; Mr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss, 4; Stronach Stables, 4; Juddmonte Farms, Inc., 1;  Voter Abstentions, 11.

Outstanding Breeder

Adena Springs, 129; Edward P. Evans, 53; Live Oak Stud, 27; Phipps Stable, 11; John Franks, 9;  Juddmonte Farms, Inc., 7;  Farnsworth Farms, 5;  Wimborne Farm, Inc., 3; John Martin Silvertand, 2; William S. Farish, 1; John Gunther, 1; Liberation Farm, 1; Old English Rancho, 1;   Voter Abstentions, 11.    

Outstanding Trainer

Todd Pletcher, 226; Steve Asmussen, 15; Robert Frankel, 5; Richard Dutrow, Jr., 4; Tim Ritchey, 4; Greg Gilchrist, 1; Claude R. McGaughey, III, 1; William I. Mott, 1; Cole Norman, 1; Nick Zito, 1. Voter Abstentions, 3.

Outstanding Jockey

John Velazquez, 195; Edgar Prado, 20; Jerry Bailey, 19; Garrett Gomez, 12; Russell Baze, 6; Ramon Dominguez, 3; Rafael Bejarano, 2; Eddie Castro, 1; Gary Stevens, 1; Patrick Valenzuela, 1; Voter Abstentions, 2.

Outstanding Apprentice Jockey

Emma-Jayne Wilson, 185; Channing Hill, 42; Justin Stein, 11; Kyle Kaenel, 3; Gerald Almodovar, 1; David Cohen, 1; Corey Fraser, 1; Voter Abstentions, 18.

Voter participation rate:  80%

The winner of the Eclipse Award of Merit, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced, is Helen “Penny” Chenery. The Eclipse Award of Merit is presented to an individual or entity displaying outstanding lifetime achievement in, and service to, the Thoroughbred industry.

The winner of the Special Award, voted on by a panel of representatives from the three presenting organizations and previously announced is Cash is King Racing Stable, Inc. The Special Award is presented to honor outstanding individual achievements in, or contributions to, the sport of Thoroughbred racing.

Media Eclipse Awards also are given in the categories of photography, audio and multi-media Internet, news/commentary, feature/enterprise writing, local television, national television–feature and national television–live racing programming to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing. The 2005 Media Eclipse Awards winners, determined by a judges’ panel for each category and previously announced, are:

Photography: Lynn Roberts, “America Alive Wins Col. Bradley by a Nose,”
Writing – Feature/Enterprise: Janet Patton, “Wrong Side of the Track,” Lexington Herald-Leader
Writing - News/Commentary:  Bob Ford, “Journey to the Winner’s Circle Rough for Giacomo’s Jockey
National Television - Live Racing: NBC Sports, David Michaels, Preakness Stakes.
National Television – Feature:  NBC Sports, Scott Boggins, “Afleet Alex,” May 7,2005   
Local Television:  WAVE 3 TV, Louisville; “Kentucky Derby Day at Churchill Downs,” Dan Foos; May 7, 2005.
Audio and Multi-Media Internet : Sirius Satellite Radio, Steve Cohen, Breeders’ Cup World Thoroughbred Championships, October 29, 2005.