The Racing Journal Logo

Alberta Community Thoroughbred Racing honors industry leaders

November 22, 2005     E-mail this page to a friend!

Top riders from left: Brooke Mellish, Jackie Smith, and standing, Janine Stianson
(photo by Garry Allison)
By Garry Allison
The Horses, RMTC, Lethbridge - The Alberta Community Thoroughbred Racing Association honoured its finest at a banquet at Whoop-Up Downs in October. The association selected its top Thoroughbred-based humans and animals for the 2005 season.

Leading the pack was Ross Brigden, named the top trainer for 2005 on the Community Circuit, with 16 wins. Runner-up for the leading 2005 trainer was veteran Stan Marks.

Also a major award winner was jockey Janine Stianson, named the top rider in the Fall Meet at Lethbridge as well as the overall leading Thoroughbred rider on the Community Circuit with 54 wins in 252 starts.

Jackie Smith was selected as the most improved rider for 2005 while Brooke Mellish was the leading rider at the Grande Prairie Meet this past summer. Veteran Peter McAleney was named the top rider for the Spring Meet at Whoop-Up Downs.

As well, the banquet honoured a surprisingly large number of 50-year trainers who continue to train on Community tracks: Robert "Red" McKenzie, Stan Marks, Phil Wiest, Ken Buxton, Dale Bagnell, Ivan Clark, Ed Calfrobe, Pete Dubois and Bob Allen.

The ACTRA committee also paid tribute to another group of 50-year Community track people who continue to support Thoroughbred racing in various ways, including Anne Buxton, D.G. Rees, Shirley Clark, Ted Allen, Orville Strandquist, Angus MacDonald, Jim Monroe and RMTC CEO Max Gibb.

A special award was presented to Marvin Christensen of Taber for his personal support and continued assistance to racing in Lethbridge through his Tri-Well Oil Construction Co.

The most valuable Community Track trainer was Brant Laczo, with 35 Spring starts in Lethbridge, 43 starts in Grande Prairie, five starts at Millarville, and 40 Fall starts in Lethbridge.

Leading trainer for the Spring Meet at Whoop-Up Downs was Dale Bagnell, while the top Thoroughbred trainer in the Fall Meet was former top jockey Elije Bourne. Pete Dubois was the top Grande Prairie trainer.

The Most Valuable Pony Person was Leanne Miyashiro with runner-up Nellie Pgeau.

On the equine side of things, the Grand Champion Runner for 2005 was Guiltybysuspicion, owned by Stan Marks and Myrtle Silbernagel, with total earnings of $36,504 on the year. The Stan Marks-trained horse was also named the leading Alberta-Bred Mare.

The leading Thoroughbred runner in claiming races for 2005 was Frosty Prince, trained by Dennis Dickinson and owned by Dennis and Chad Dickinson, with four wins. The best Sprint Horse was Westerntock, trained by Phil Wiest and owned by Caroline Wiest and Dorothy Harty, with five wins.

Larry The Longshot, trained by Allan Brown and owned by Jodie Mrochen was the best distance horse with two wins and three placings and the best Aged Horse was Arctic Horizon with three victories, trained by Pat Goruk and owned by Gord Goruk.

The top Thoroughbred Alberta-Bred Awards for 2005 also included top two-year-old Black Eyed Monte, owned by Rocky Mountain Turf Club and trained by Doug Macdonald, with three wins and earnings of $23,125. The top three-year-old Alberta-Bred was Cool Yer Boots, earning $21,055 of owner Abe Brewster and trained Bob Gwilliam.

Bill and Kathy Ramage are the owners and Stan Webb trains I'mamagiciantoo, the leading Alberta-Bred two-year-old filly, who earned $9,452 in two starts. The leading three-year-old Alberta-Bred filly was John's Magic, another Kathy and Bill Ramage horse, and once again trained by Stan Webb.

Dr. Mo was the leading Alberta-Bred runner, earning $21,842 for owner J.C. Brown and trainer Brant Laczo.
The 2005 Alberta-Bred Community Track Breeder of the Year was Bar None Ranches.