The Racing Journal Logo

Itstufftobegood sets Emerald record

August 5, 2005     E-mail this page to a friend!

Auburn, WA— The Harley H. Hoppe & Associates Marathon Championship Series continued Friday, August 5 with a 1-1/4 mile record-setting win by Itstufftobegood.

The 4-year-old gelding trained by Neil Knapp and ridden by Kevin Krigger stayed nearly six lengths back until the home stretch when he took command and finished the race in 2 minutes, 1 second. It is a new Emerald Downs record for the distance.

The previous record was 2:01 4/5 set by Rapid Stream, Aug. 15, 1998. The state record is 2:00 3/5 set by Santarem at Longacres, Sept. 3 1973.

“I knew from the first time I rode this horse I just needed to sit on him,” Krigger said. “This horse has a lot of confidence.”

Big Bad Bue and Themanwiththebigcigar set opening fractions of :23 and :46 1/5.

Krigger held his charge within striking distance and then moved ahead by two lengths at the head of the stretch, extending his lead to nearly four lengths at the wire.

“They (the owners) almost wanted to give this horse away,” Knapp said. “He’s an ornery bugger, but he has gotten a lot better. He’s a typical racehorse.”

Itstufftobegood improved his record to 7-3-2 from 13 starts and paid $5.40, $3.20 and $2.60.

Exceptional Game returned $10.60 and $6.60 for second and Watershed Park paid $3.20 for third.

The Harley H. Hoppe & Associates Marathon Championship Series is a set of four races in which the distance lengthens in each event. The first race was a 1-1/8 mile event run on July 15 and won by Mister Doeny, who finished seventh in Friday’s second leg.
Leg three is run at 1-1/2 miles on August 27. The series culminates on September 18 with a 1-3/4 mile test.

Each horse that hits the board in the marathon series accumulates points (six points for a win, four points for second, two points for third and each starter that finishes fourth or worse earns one point). Whichever horse completes the four race series with the most points is crowned the series’ victor. The winner must also compete in all four events.

After two events, the current marathon standings are: Mister Doeny (7), Itstufftobegood (6), Big Bad Bue (5), Exceptional Game (4), Road To Recovery (3), and Watershed Park (2).