The Racing Journal Logo

California Chrome draws #11 post for Dubai World Cup


March 24, 2016     E-mail this page to a friend!

California Chrome drew a wide post again for his second attempt at the $10 million Dubia World Cup on Saturday, March 26. He starts from the #11 slot this year after finishing second from the #9 slot in the 2015 edition of the World Cup.

“Listen,” said trainer Art Sherman, “the outside is good if you’ve got the horse, and I hope we do. He’s got tactical speed, so I’m not going to worry about it.”

U.S. Grade 1 winners Keen Ice (#1 post), Mshawish (#2), Frosted (#9), and Hoppertunity (#10) are also entered in the 2,000-meter (about 1¼ miles) event, for which post time is at approximately 9:00 p.m. in Dubai—about 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time/10:00 a.m. Pacific Time in the U.S.

Also entered is Mubtaahij (#4), whose UAE Derby win last year propelled him to the Kentucky Derby. Horses from England, France, Hong Kong, Japan, and the United Arab Emirates are also in the field of 12.


The full field for the $10 million Dubai World Cup
Post Horse              Jockey                Trainer           Odds
1 Keen Ice Ryan Moore Dale Romans 20-to-1
2 Mshawish Lanfranco Dettori Todd Pletcher 8-to-1
3 Gun Pit Joao Moreira Caspar Fownes 30-to-1
4 Mubtaahij Christophe Soumillon Mike de Kock 15-to-1
5 Special Fighter Fernando Jara Musabah Al Muhairi 15-to-1
6 Candy Boy Pat Dobbs Doug Watson 50-to-1
7 Vadamos Vincent Cheminaud Andre Fabre 20-to-1
8 Hokko Tarumae Hideaki Miyuki Katsuichi Nishiura 20-to-1
9 Frosted William Buick Kiaran McLaughlin 2-to-1
10 Hoppertunity Flavien Prat Bob Baffert 12-to-1
11 California Chrome Victor Espinoza Art Sherman 3-to-2
12 Teletext Silvestre De Sousa Sami Al Harabi 30-to-1