The Racing Journal Logo

2014 Eclipse Awards finalists announced

January 8, 2015     E-mail this page to a friend!

Led by Horse of the Year candidates Bayern, California Chrome, and Main Sequence, the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB) have announced the finalists for the 2014 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 44th annual Eclipse Awards dinner and ceremony, presented by Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup, and The Stronach Group on Saturday evening, January 17, at Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino in Hallandale Beach, Florida.

Of the 280 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB and Daily Racing Form, 265 (94.6%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes.

The 2014 Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Horse of the Year: Bayern, California Chrome, Main Sequence
Two-Year-Old Male: American Pharoah, Hootenanny, Texas Red
Two-Year-Old Filly: Condo Commando, Lady Eli, Take Charge Brandi
Three-Year-Old Male: Bayern, California Chrome, Shared Belief
Three-Year-Old Filly: Stopchargingmaria, Sweet Reason, Untapable
Older Male: Main Sequence, Palace Malice, Wise Dan
Older Female: Close Hatches, Dayatthespa, Don’t Tell Sophia
Male Sprinter: Goldencents, Private Zone, Work All Week
Female Sprinter: Artemis Agrotera, Judy the Beauty, Sweet Reason
Male Turf Horse: Karakontie (JPN), Main Sequence, Wise Dan
Female Turf Horse: Crown Queen, Dayatthespa, Stephanie’s Kitten
Steeplechase Horse: Demonstrative, Divine Fortune, Makari (GB)
Owner: Kaleem Shah, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Ken and Sarah Ramsey
Breeder: Adena Springs, Ken and Sarah Ramsey, Winchell Thoroughbreds
Trainer: Bob Baffert, Chad Brown, Todd Pletcher
Jockey: Javier Castellano, Joel Rosario, John Velazquez
Apprentice Jockey: Angel Cruz, Taylor Rice, Drayden Van Dyke

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, longtime New York Racing Association track announcer Tom Durkin will receive the Eclipse Award of Merit and Old Friends Farm will be recognized with an Eclipse Special Award. Jose Arias will receive an Eclipse Award as the Handicapper of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Tickets to The Eclipse Awards ceremony are on sale for $400 each or $4,000 for a table of 10. For reservations, please contact Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at or call (859) 422-2657. For more information on The Eclipse Awards, visit