The Racing Journal Logo

Multiple records set at Los Alamitos in 2004

December 20, 2004     E-mail this page to a friend!

Los Alamitos Race Course, Cypress, CA - A record average single night handle of $1,281,868 was set during the 2004 meeting at Los Alamitos. The total average single night handle broke the previous record of $1,276,936 set in 2000.

The 203-night meeting also set a total handle record of $260,21,285. The previous record of $236,242,617 was set in 2003. This is the 11th straight year that the average single night handle has gone over the $1 million mark at Los Alamitos. TVG and Youbet combined to handle a record average of $165,624 in 2004, a hike of 49.66 percent from last year. Just two years ago, the average TVG and Youbet handle was just $64,942. Opening Night for the 2005 Los Alamitos season in Sunday, December 26.

Wagering figures were up across the board. The average on-track handle of $255,278 was up 6.31 percent from last year, while the in-state satellites handle of $573,646 represented a 3.02 percent increase. The out-of-state handle of $286,502 was up 17.04 percent. The on-track attendance saw a decrease of 7.49 percent.

The meeting featured a season high handle of $1,995,758 set on California Champions Nigh, June 19, 2004. The season high handle is the ninth highest in track history.

Los Alamitos hosted its richest race ever with the running of the $1,509,324 Los Alamitos Million on Friday, December 10. Muller Racing Inc.'s Ocean Runaway won the 400-yard race, on the way to becoming only the fourth horse since 1959 to be Quarter Horse racing's richest horse of the year without winning the All American Futurity.

Trainer Paul Jones set multiple Quarter Horse records in 2004. He set a track record for most Quarter Horse wins in a single year while winning his seventh straight local training title with 253 wins. He also set a national Quarter Horse record for most wins in a year with 281 wins. His record-breaking victory came in the 8th race on closing night with Dealadash. Blane Schvaneveldt set the previous record of 279 wins in 1983. Jose Flores was second in the 2004 Quarter Horse standings with 99 wins.

Hector Cuevas won his first Quarter Horse riding title with 163 wins after edging Alex Bautista in the final night of the meeting. Bautista, who finished as the overall leading rider with 226 wins, finished just a win behind Cuevas in the Quarter Horse standings. Bautista won 162 Quarter Horse races.

Billy Lewis won his sixth Arabian training title after saddling 45 winners. Joy Scott picked up her first riding title in 17 years after winning 28 Arabian races. She edged Alex Bautista by one victory. Bautista was second with 27 wins.

In addition, Guillermo Gutierrez won his second Thoroughbred riding title after beating Agapito Delgadillo by a win in the standings. Gutierrez won 57 Thoroughbred races to Delgadillo's 56. Jesus Nunez won his second Thoroughbred training title after saddling 66 winners in 2004.

Ed Allred finished as the top Quarter Horse owner with 37 victories, while Darley Stable was the top Arabian owner with 30 wins. Grand Slam Racing Stables finishes with the most Thoroughbred wins among owners with 37.

Ocean Runaway was voted Quarter Horse of the Meet. Knines Dream was voted the Thoroughbred Horse of the Meet after winning six of 13 starts, while Phine And Dandy was the Arabian Horse of the Meet after winning six of nine starts. Keep Him, the winner of the Masterpiece Derby, was voted the top Paint Horse of the Meeting.