The Racing Journal Logo

Racing Champions to be announced on January 12 in Oklahoma City

January 3, 2011     E-mail this page to a friend!

Who will be the 2010 World Champion Racing American Quarter Horse? Watch the 2010 AQHA Racing Champions announcements live from Heritage Place in Oklahoma City on January 12, to find out.

The program begins at 6 p.m. Central Time, and will be available worldwide and free of charge at This year’s program will be hosted by Tom Dawson and co-hosted by Remington Park’s Dale Day.

This year’s presentation features three permanent additions to the program: recognition of the new AQHA Dams of Distinction, Supreme Race Horses, and open Supreme Champions. In 2010, there were two Dams of Distinction, three Supreme Race Horses, and one Supreme Champion.

AQHA will also honor Stolis Winner, who displaced Refrigerator as American Quarter Horse racing’s all-time leading money-earner. Stolis Winner is owned by AQHA Past President Jerry Windham of College Station, Texas.

Nominees automatically qualify based on 2010 earnings or statistics; members of the AQHA Racing Committee may nominate additional horses if they wish. The 25 members of the AQHA Racing Champions Selection Subcommittee then vote on a final ballot in each of these 21 categories:

2-year-old colt
2-year-old filly
2-year-old gelding
3-year-old colt
3-year-old filly
3-year-old gelding
Aged stallion
Aged mare
Aged gelding
Distance horse
Canadian race horse
Mexican race horse


Overall 2-year-old
Overall 3-year-old
Overall aged horse

World Champion

Winners in all categories receive a bronze trophy created by equine sculptor Lisa Perry.

The public is invited to attend the show. Admission is free, but seating is limited. Gentlemen are asked to wear a coat and tie. If you would like information about attending in person, please call the AQHA Racing department at (806) 378-4811.