The Racing Journal Logo

22 horses from near and far nominated to 75th running of $250,000 Longacres Mile

August 9, 2010     E-mail this page to a friend!

Twenty-two handicap horses, including stakes winners from Washington, Canada, the Midwest and California, have been nominated to the $250,000 Longacres Mile at Emerald Downs.

The 75th running of the Grade III Mile—the latest chapter in one of the Northwest’s iconic sporting events—is set for Sunday, August. 22. The program also includes the $75,000 Emerald Distaff for fillies and mares, with Hall of Fame jockey Eddie Delahoussaye to serve as Honoray Steward for The Mile.

Locally based horses have captured every Mile since 2005, and 10 horses are eligible to continue that trend in 2010. Noosa Beach, a triple stakes winner at the meet, has been the best horse at Emerald Downs this season and appears to have the best chance to make it six straight wins for the home team.

Wasserman, the 2008 Mile winner, and Assessment, the 2009 Mile champion, could give trainer Howard Belvoir an unprecedented third straight Mile victory.

Gallant Son, voted Top Juvenile at Emerald Downs in 2008, is scheduled to make a homecoming for trainer Frank Lucarelli and owners Chris Randall and Nick Rossi. The 4-year-old Malabar Gold colt has won turf stakes at both Santa Anita (Pasadena Stakes) and Hollywood Park (Grade III Inglewood Handicap) and is scheduled to arrive this week from Del Mar in advance of The Mile.

Southern California-based trainers Bob Baffert and Doug O’Neill—who both have saddled Longacres Mile winners—each nominated a runner. Baffert, winner of the 1996 Mile with Isitingood nominated Mythical Power, a double graded stakes winner with a recent triumph in the Texas Mile at Lone Star Park. O’Neill, who shipped in Sky Jack for a record-breaking score in 2003, nominated Enriched, Lava Man’s little brother and third-place finisher in two graded stakes last month at Del Mar.

Delightful Kiss is the richest horse nominated to this year’s Mile with earnings of $1,093,593. The 6-year-old Florida-bred has won four graded stakes with a deep-closing style, including the 2009 Hal’s Hope at Gulfstream Park in which he rallied from 16 lengths back to win going away by three lengths at the one-mile distance.

Here Comes Ben, a 4-year-old Street Cry colt, has reeled off three straight wins in Kentucky, including the seven-furlong Kellys Landing at Churchill Downs on June 25.

Five Canada-based runners are nominated, led by 2009 Longacres Mile third-place finisher Teide, one of three horses nominated by trainer Dino Condilenios. Hollywood Hit, a 4-year-old Cactus Ridge gelding, has been a terror at Woodbine where his stakes triumphs include clockings of 1:071 for six furlongs and a track record 1:20 for seven furlongs.

At least 10 horses have started in every Longacres Mile since 2000, with full fields of 12 lining up for the last three editions. If more than 12 horses enter the race, high weights will be preferred. Director of Racing Bret Anderson will release weights Saturday, August 14, with entries to be drawn Wednesday, August 18.

Nominations for the 75th running of the $250,000 Longacres Mile (listed with owner and trainer)

Almost Time (4-BC) Swift Thoroughbreds Inc. Dino Condilenios
Assessment (6-KY) Tice Ranch Stables LLC Howard Belvoir
Burj Dubai (4-KY) Swift Thoroughbreds Inc. Dino Condilenios
Davos (5-KY) Ron Crockett Inc. Junior Coffey
Delightful Kiss (6-FL) Ceen Stable & Pete Anderson Aggie Ordonez
Dixie Meister (8-TX) Strange Luck Stable Michael Puhich
Enriched (5-CA) WCRcing/Wstsdrntls/Haymes Doug O’Neill
Gallant Son (4-KY) Randall & Rossi Frank Lucarelli
Gallon (5-KY) Michael & Amy Feuerborn Jim Penney
Here Comes Ben (4-KY) Brandon & Marianne Chase Charles Lopresti
Hollywood Hit (4-OK) Peter Redekop B.C. Ltd Terry Jordan
Jersey Town (4-KY) Charles E. Fipke Tim McCanna
Mythical Power (4-KY) Peachtree Stable Bob Baffert
Noble Juan (4-CA) G & E Racing & Anne Wisdom Gregory Moore
Noosa Beach (4-WA) Jeff Harwood Doris Harwood
Rooster City (4-KY) Victor G. Bahna Jr. Tim McCanna
Senor Rojo (4-KY) Tres Hombres David Forster
Taif (4-FL) Sue & Tim Spooner Dan Markle
Teide (6-KY) Swift Thoroughbreds Inc. Dino Condilenios
Trick Of The North (9-BC)Aurora Stables Barbara Heads
Wasserman (8-WA) Howard Belvoir Howard Belvoir
Winning Machine (4-KY) Fleur De Lis Stables Frank Lucarelli