The Racing Journal Logo

TVG to air exclusive live coverage of tonight’s 39th annual Eclipse Awards

January 18, 2010     E-mail this page to a friend!

Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta finally face off for Horse of the Year honors

TVG, the premier horseracing television network in the U.S., will broadcast exclusive coverage of the 39th Annual Eclipse Awards live tonight, Monday, January 18, from the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, California. Headlining the awards honoring champion Thoroughbreds of 2009 is the highly anticipated Horse of the Year announcement where Preakness Stakes winner Rachel Alexandra and undefeated Breeders’ Cup Classic winner Zenyatta will face off for the first time.

“We just witnessed one of the most memorable years in horseracing history, and while they’ve never met on the track, Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta find themselves in a match race for Horse of the Year honors,” said Gerard Cunningham, president of Betfair US, owner and operator of TVG. “It’s a virtual dead heat for racing’s top honor and no matter what the outcome, Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta can certainly stake their claim as Queen of the Sport of Kings.”

TVG’s broadcast of the Eclipse Awards begins with red carpet coverage at 4 p.m. Pacific Time (PT) hosted by TVG’s Todd Schrupp, Simon Bray, and Greg Wolf. Live coverage of awards presentations begins at 5 p.m. PT hosted by award-winning horseracing and sports announcer Kenny Rice. The Eclipse Awards show is produced by TVG in association with the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA).

“The announcement of 2009 Horse of the Year is among the most highly anticipated moments in the 39-year history of the Eclipse Awards,” said NTRA Senior Vice President Keith Chamblin. “We are delighted that TVG will once again be broadcasting the entire Awards show to a world-wide television audience.”

The Eclipse Awards ceremony will conclude with the announcement and presentation of the Horse of the Year, racing’s top honor.

The Eclipse Awards are presented by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), the National Turf Writers Association, and Daily Racing Form. The awards will recognize champions in 17 human and equine categories. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.